• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

So you're posted to a NAVY base and you're ARMY.

TN2IC

Army.ca Veteran
Reaction score
Well you are in for surprise!    ;D

I had the honour to work on one of Canada's Navy Bases for the pass month.

There are some notes I made I would like to bring up for anyone intrested in my recce skills. So you don't get the shock and awh effect on you.

Their language is foreign. I am still learning.
I'll say the ones I know so far.

Jetty ~ not a pier... Jetty.

Chief ~ Members that are MWO or CWO, don't call them sir. I learned that the hard way.

Heads ~ Bathroom, again, hard way.

Old Man ~ Commanding Officer, I was wondering why the old man was getting some guy to play a whistle for him. I thought it was some ones dad. Boys was I wrong.

XO- All you need to know for us, Deputy Commanding Officer.

Coxswain (sp?) - Their version of the RSM.

Soup time ~ coffee break that includes soup. You must visit the "Galley" for it.

Galley ~ Our Mess, watch you head while walking on the ship. Metal hurts.

Capt (N) ~ I believe is our Col.

Lt (N) ~ is our Capt... beats me.

Also just some notes..

~While boarding HMCS whatever.. you must salute before stepping on. I am not sure on this issue... but I just copy other folks.

~This throws me for a loop... you do not salute a Commission officer when you walk into their office. Beats me. I even put my heels together.

~Piping in the officer deal... if we did that in the field. The sniper would have a field day.

~Mobile Dock crane operators are crazy drivers. Just whip around the Jetties like they own it.

~Each night it seems they play musical ships and don't tell anyone. I have to drive down each day and map out where is what...

~Poop deck I am still trying to figure out. I think it is on the same level as the "heads"