• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Two dead, 22 injured in Toronto shooting

Bass ackwards

Subscriber
Donor
Inactive
Reaction score
This CNEWS article is reproduced under the fair dealing provisions of the Copyright Act.

Two dead, 22 injured in Toronto shooting
By Chris Doucette QMI Agency

TORONTO -- A barbecue ended in bloodshed as a reckless exchange of gunfire erupted in an east-end neighbourhood late Monday killing two people and injuring 22 others, including an infant.

The mass shooting, the worst in the city's history, occurred around 10:40 p.m. during a large house party and sent a throng of people running for their lives from 193 Danzig St., just south of Lawrence and Morningside Aves.

"I've been a cop for 35 years and this is the worst incident of gun violence in my memory anywhere in North America," Toronto Police Chief Bill Blair said at the scene shortly after the bullets stopped flying.

The city's top cop was obviously distraught and had difficulty finding the words to describe how he was feeling about the shooting that he called "unprecedented" for Toronto.

"It's a very shocking event," Blair said. "A lot of innocent people were injured tonight."

It's believed more than 200 partygoers were at the barbecue, described as an annual event by area residents. People were listening to music one second and dodging bullets the next.

Blair said "an altercation broke out among some individuals and there was an exchange of gunfire."

A young teenage girl, whose name was not immediately released, and a man, believed to be about 20, were killed.

Blair said 19 others were wounded by gunfire in the shooting and three were hurt in the stampede as the crowd fled.

An infant was among those struck by bullets, but the chief said the child's injuries are not life-threatening.