• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Single or Married? Financially speaking

Happiness aside, and ON AVERAGE, what's better financially?

• Single

Votes: 9 30.0%
  • Married

Votes: 10 33.3%
  • I am useless with my finances no matter what

Votes: 4 13.3%
  • I'm a Snr Officer and my spouse is another Snr Officer/Doctor/Lawyer/Engineer/Millionaire

Votes: 7 23.3%

• Total voters

blacktriangle

Army.ca Veteran
Inactive
Reaction score
I realize every situation is different, but I am just curious on this topic. Who, while serving in the CF, does better financially? At least on average? Obviously everyone has different priorities in life, but if my main goal is financial stability (comfortable but not rich), is it better to just stay single? 

I see financial benefits to being married such as the economy of scale that comes from splitting a mortgage, major purchases and so on, but that's not always the case if your spouse doesn't have a job or if they have a low paying one.

At the same time, I see a lot of guys going through messy divorces (losing money, pension time) or living pay cheque to pay cheque since they are the sole worker in the family. Not really interested in that. Are pre-nups useful?

Anyone willing to throw their 2 cents my way? Anyone have any good/bad experiences they care to share from a financial standpoint?

Thanks! 

So when did marriage become a financial decision?

I always thought it was about love. At least that's what my wife tells me. >:D

And since when did engineers get thrown into the same financial pile as doctors/lawyers/millionaires?  ;)

Methinks that if you use the same approach to a marriage that you do for a business plan, you're going to be single for a long time - or married several times!  :nod:

cupper said:

Getting married is not a financial decision.  Staying married may be!  8)