• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Should I wait a year?

Statik

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So I’ve been hanging around army.ca for quite a while, but never made an account, until now. Right now I’m a freshman in highschool and I plan to join the army when I graduate. At the moment, I’m about 5’8 and roughly 130lbs, so I’m not exactly a body builder, quite the opposite actually. My question is, should I join the army right out of highschool, or take a year off and try to get in the best shape possible, etc. I’m not exactly looking for a definite answer, just some pointers/pros and cons more or less. Thanks in advance for any help.

--
Robert

Why not use the remaining years in high school to get in better shape?
If you can't make the time to fit a fitness routine into your school years than you'll  have a hard time keeping up with the pace of the everyday military routine.

work out at school , or after school ..... it doesn't take money and a private gym to get back in shape , do jogging outside , push-ups , sit-ups , you can even go into a public parc and use what's there to do chin ups and everything ........

fine it's not as glamour as a private gym with all the facilities ..... but hell ..... at least your training and trying to reach a goal .... you don't need to be a body builder to be in the army , you need to be in shape , big difference

Don't wait until you graduate, start getting in shape now!  You'll feel better for doing it, regardless of what your career aspirations are.

I would definitely consider some sort of post-secondary education.  I'm sure you have read that most trades are very competitive these days, since you stated you've been viewing the boards for quite a while. Education and grades are important, as well as volunteering, work experience, etc.  Only having the minimum requirement can often be sub-standard.