• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Server Upgrade

Mike Bobbitt

Administrator
Staff member
Owner
Directing Staff
Reaction score
All,

Tonight I performed a fairly reaching server upgrade (Fedora Core 7 to 8 for the geeks out there). If you notice any problems with the site, please let me know.

Thanks
Mike

Very nice, Thats the best one to use for websites :).Ill be sure to report any problems

<Troll Bait>
Why not switch to debian and follow the continues upgrade approach?
<!Troll Bait>

I hope the sysadmin here can take a joke / poke.

So far I don't see any problems. I do see a very slight improvement in responsiveness.
I am assume you are using Nagios monitoring. As a system admin myself I am always a little curious what tools you are using under the hood to keep the engine running. Perhaps I may be able to help with with tools in your toolbox. At a recent past job I worked with/lead a team of admins. We remote administrated over 400+ servers and used net boot/installs as much as possible. Ya we use redhat, but the upgrades always were a task. We did try Fedora for a while, but found it to be redhat's beta ware for redhat enterprise. I find debian upgrades a little smoother and better tested. I am not happy at all with ubuntu's testing of server upgrades and upgrade strategy. On the other hand they do a great job configuring desktop environments.

Congratulates no major failurers yet. Upgrading from Fedora 7 to 8, is not something you can fall back.

Hi tdwebste,

I haven't used Nagios before, but I'll sure check it out now. :) The honest answer about debian is: It's already working under Fedora. I've been a RedHat user from way back (I have RH3 disks here somewhere). I'm sure debian isn't hard to use and I hear a lot of good things about it... maybe next time I rebuild the server from the ground up I'll try it.