• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Prospective student for RMC, worried about extra-curricular activities.

Red_Lion

Inactive
Reaction score
So, I've pretty much decided I want to go to RMC. I want to make a difference in the world, not just roll through life without feeling like I've accomplished anything.

I have a few questions though. I am fairly sure that my marks will qualify me for entrance into RMC , but I'm not sure if I have been involved in enough extra curricular activities.

In highschool I have not been involved in any sports. Big problem I think.

However, I have been absorbed in martial arts for nearly 8 years, with heavy involvement in the full contact fighting for the past 3 years. I've gotten my black belt in Karate and am working towards one in Kung-Fu. I have been demonstrating martial arts for approximately 5 years. I have participated in many demonstrations, tournaments, have fought at the pan-Americans San Sao in Toronto, and have been teaching for nearly 6 months.

I always said to myself that I would get involved in school activities but I never found the time. With school work and going to the club 7 - 9.5 hours a week (Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday) I never got around to it.

Do you think I'll have a chance? Should I try and get some in on my last year of High school?

Not sure how it will play out but being involved in teaching and coaching others is a great example of putting leadership skills in practise and that's what they are looking for.
So, emphasize your time commitment, your teaching/coaching and the results of your efforts - what did your students accomplish with your help or how many people did you teach.
I think team sports are given more weight but teaching a sport is great leadership practice.

cheers,
Frank