• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Why the medical standards the same across the board?

VancouverNurse

Inactive
Reaction score
So I applied and got the letter of doom in the mail --
I completed everything, was told my interview was great -- then I was told I have a medical abnormality. (I personally loved that from the recruiter)

Yes - I have Type I Diabetes, and before everyone you close this topic, and everyone tells me to go pursue something else, or that I am medically unfit to be in the army. I will tell you  that I do not disagree, if I was looking for a physical role or piloting or so on.

What I do not understand is why they would automatically turn down my application for a nurse. I am almost completed nursing school, have amazing grades, and control my diabetes well, unfortunately they never even checked. I understand as a nurse I would be possibly deployed, but circumstances of nurses (as far as I can tell) as quite different than infantry, therefore why does the army not have specific medical requirements?

VancouverNurse said:
So I applied and got the letter of doom in the mail --
I completed everything, was told my interview was great -- then I was told I have a medical abnormality. (I personally loved that from the recruiter)

Yes - I have Type I Diabetes, and before everyone you close this topic, and everyone tells me to go pursue something else, or that I am medically unfit to be in the army. I will tell you  that I do not disagree, if I was looking for a physical role or piloting or so on.