• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Seeking insight on Canadian Security and Defence

PoliticsStudent

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I was hoping you all could share some insight with me. I am a student and am writing a major paper on defence and security policy. I have 7 topics in total to choose from, however I find 4 worthy of consideration. I am going to post the topics, and I would love to hear from you guys on which topic you think I could find the most information without setting myself up to conquer a mountain (i.e. too broad a topic). I am a civilian and could use some advice on perhaps what specifically is available for research and perhaps the best places to check out to get me started. I am not familiar with Canadian Forces Websites that would provide this type of information thus I am looking for your knowledgeable insight. 

Topic 1: Should Canada join the American Ballistic Missile Defence initiative?                       
  - I think most of my information could come from academic journals who are proponents and opponents.

Topic 2: Should Canada stay the course in Afghanistan?
  - Unfortunately, most information comes from the media and we all know this isn't the most reliable source.

Topic 3: What are the positive and negative consequences of defence policy initiatives allowing women to serve in combat roles in the armed forces?           
  - How can I get my hands on defence policy initiatives specific to this topic?

Topic 4: Canadians pride themselves on their nation's participation in UN peacekeeping operations, but Canada currently contributes most of its peacekeeping personnel to non-UN (i.e. NATO) peacekeeping missions. What are the positive and negative implications of this change in emphasis?