• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Reservists in the civilian police??

sperl121

Inactive
Reaction score
After completing my university degree I was unsure if I wanted to join the Reg force or become a civilian police officer.  This past summer I completed my BMQ/SQ courses with the reserves and was hoping to apply to civilian police forces ASAP as I have already attained my OACP certificate.  This way I was hoping to have my cake and eat it to by being both a soldier and a police officer.
After getting back from course I have been in contact with a few recruiters from different forces within Ontario but I do not seem to be getting any solid answers as to what kind of participation I can have in the reserves if I am also a police officer.  So my question is going out to any reservists out there who are also civilian police.
Basically I want to know how much military training would I be able to do while still fulfilling my commitment to a civilian police force?  Would I be able to do weekend exercises, and would there be any chance of doing any summer courses?  I realize summer courses would probably require a leave of absence from the police but none of the recruiters have been able to answer if this would be allowed at all.
I am worried that if I do become a police officer I would be unable to participate to the level I would like to with the reserves. I am not saying I want to go away to course every summer but I am just wondering what the opportunities I might have are.  So in general my question is can I be both a successful reserve soldier as well as civilian police officer?  The forces I have been looking at joining are Toronto, York, and waterloo.  My reservist trade is armoured soldier with my unit being out of Toronto.

Thankyou for any help!! :salute: