• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

I cant seem to figure out the right career path for myself. advice???

ajp75

Inactive
Reaction score
I have already applied, did well on the apptitude test. The interviewer said i did extremely well and i qualify for any position. I am a little older 33.
my choice was med tech-navy. i know ill get that but it might not be exaclty what i want. However during the interview i was pursuaded to apply for the army section. where i can do the soldier qualification course after basic.
so i did. I can still be on a ship as a medic so its ok.
Navy was my choice because of the sea pay and i like being in the ocean.

i need a little excitement, adventure, i want to be deployed overseas, afganistan, and other places. but as a med tech i belive im stuck in canada for at least my first 2 years.
if im with a platoon, i want to be in the action, not just wait for someone to get hurt.
i have talked with many recruiters, some good, some shouldnt be recruiters.
and i still cant seem to narrow my options down.
I dont want to be a supply clerk, not that there is anything wrong with that. its just not for me.
As i mentioned I want some adventure, id like to be in combat. but im not sure which route to take.
i have the brains, just no guidance.

any help would be appreciated.

It's all really quite simple:

If you want to be a medic, be a medic.
If you want to be an infantry soldier, be an infantry soldier.

We get a lot of people on here wanting to be in one trade, but "hope" they also get to do everything some other trade does.  Each trade is different, there are some overlaps in training and in types of employment, but they are not the same.  You need to prioritize your preferences and use them to decide what trade will best satisfy them.

Have you tried the Virtual Advisor on the Forces.ca website?