• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Eyesight for Armoured Soldier

Status
Not open for further replies.

cf.junior

Inactive
Reaction score
Do armoured soldiers require a keen eyesight? This is the trade I'm most interested in, and I have terrible eyesight (-5 on left, -4.5 on right).

Would this disqualify me as an armoured soldier candidate?

PMedMoe said:
I have no idea.

I am not an expert however I believe this would be considered very poor. I had -6.25 in each eye and was completely disqualified for all service. One month ago however I had LASIK surgery after which I have been tested at 20/20 uncorrected vision. I strongly recommend it.

cf . said:
Where would -5 land in the V1 - V5 categories?

Search, man....

Start here - http://forums.army.ca/forums/threads/31590.0.html

MMSS said:
I am not an expert however I believe this would be considered very poor. I had -6.25 in each eye and was completely disqualified for all service. One month ago however I had LASIK surgery after which I have been tested at 20/20 uncorrected vision. I strongly recommend it.

Don't your eyes have to have a stable prescription, which occurs around the mid twenties? I'm under 18 and I was planning on joining the forces as an armoured soldier after I graduated high school.

cf . said:
Don't your eyes have to have a stable prescription, which occurs around the mid twenties? I'm under 18 and I was planning on joining the forces as an armoured soldier after I graduated high school.

Well, if your vision is bad to start with, I hardly think it will improve with age........

cf . said:
Do armoured soldiers require a keen eyesight? This is the trade I'm most interested in, and I have terrible eyesight (-5 on left, -4.5 on right).

Would this disqualify me as an armoured soldier candidate?