• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

EROC Operators

Chimo

Inactive
Reaction score
I would like to throw out a topic for some professional discussion to weigh the pros and cons. EROC is a new capability introduced to the Army and resident with Combat Engineers. Presently 4 ESR is force generating the personnel required to deploy this capability to theatre.

I have some limited knowledge, I am not an operator but I have certainly read the books, seen the equipment, talked to the operators, seen the equipment operate. The nagging question I have is...do these operators, have to be 043 Combat Engineers?

Do not get me wrong I truly admire their work and dedication. I am thinking there is nothing particular to the Engineers, other then it providing a route opening function. Could not other arms and trades be trained to do the same tasks with the same degree of competence?

Give me two minutes to don my helmet and flack jacket, then fire away.  :salute:

I think by the vary nature of EROC and
detecting, investigating and disposing of explosive threats such as improvised explosive devices (IEDs) and mines
I can't see any other MOC/MOS doing this well maybe except the Clearance Divers.

Just a caution to one and all.  Much of what falls into this category of discussion falls into the category of OPSEC, so please think twice before posting.

Thx dapaterson I was just think the same after I posted.

:cheers:

I personally believe other trades could trained to be operators.

I have operational experience and have seen/worked with EROC.

Bzzliteyr said:
I personally believe other trades could trained to be operators.

I have operational experience and have seen/worked with EROC.

Not doubting that Bzzliteyr, just as I can drive a Leopard ;)

Which also gives me the skill set to be able to drive the AEV.. though the qualifications are not interchangeable.