• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Do officers have fun?

DannyITR

Inactive
Reaction score
I'm going to be joining as an officer in the reserves very soon (after having completed BMQ as a private and asking for a release 2 years ago). I was talking with the recruiter and he mentioned that an officer's role is mainly planning the mission. I have a few questions after having already searched this forum.

1. I have a degree. I read on this forum that I'd be commissioned upon enrollment. Does that mean I'm a 2lt going through BMQ and SQ? If this is not the case when do I become a 2lt and get rid of the cornflake on my beret? (I'll be joining an engineering reserve regiment).

2. Do officers have any fun with weapons and perhaps leading attacks at all? When I was a private, I never saw the officers at the regiment. I wondered what they did while we were cleaning and doing drill etc.

3. I've heard officer's courses are very hard. What makes them more difficult? Longer marches? More PT? What?

OK, I'll try to answer this.
Officers do much more than "plan" a mission: they lead it.  At all levels except the section/crew/det level.
With a degree, you will be commissioned upon completion of BOTP or whatever basic officer training is nowadays (unless that's changed recently)
Officers are expected to be able to not only handle every weapon in the platoon arsenal, more importantly, they are excepted to master siting and employing them.  (Sgts and  your Pl WO are an invaluable asset in this aspect).  As for "having fun", to each their own what "fun" entails.  As I said above, officers are expected to lead, often by personal example.  As I have often heard, the role of the subaltern is to die gloriously and thus inspire his men onwards.