• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Can anyone do this? A Question About Direct Entry

• Thread starter Thread starter Charlie
  • Start date Start date
C

Charlie

I've been using this website for a few months now, and it seems to me that there are a few jobs that you can't get into directly, such as SAR-Technicians, JTF2, and Snipers.  My question is: Are there any more occupations that you can get into later on in your career (as opposed to directly), and can you get into them no matter what your occupation?  Like say, you are an Avionics Technician....would you have the qualifications to become a sniper or a SAR- tech? I'm not planning on doing any of these jobs, I am just asking out of curiousity.  Any info would be appreciated. Thanks CHEERS  :salute: :cdn:

JTF2 and SAR have their own recruiting processes, internal to the CF. To be a sniper, you need to be in the Infantry, be skilled and have demonstrated an aptitude for shooting, RECCE , MATURITY and experience as a soldier.

I get asked how to be a sniper all the time, while working in the recruiting cell. One of the things I ask someone, is what they think is appealing about this specialty. Most of them just think it's cool. Consider your reasons for asking. The trades you mention are skills that no, not everyone can do. Is this to say that you can't develop yourself or strive to achieve this? No, they're long term career goals and the people who are in them, have worked hard in their primary trades, and have earned their place, doing their cool jobs.

Very good answer Hitman. Courteous and right to the point