• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Are you as good a leader as a fifth grader?

daftandbarmy

Army.ca Dinosaur
Reaction score
Are you as good a leader as a fifth grader?

“It is high time the ideal of success should be replaced with the ideal of service.” ― Albert Einstein

My daughter recently started Grade 5.

Apart from being astonished that she has grown up so fast (where has the time gone?) I was impressed that her school has a tradition of engaging students more thoroughly in the art and science of leadership in the fifth grade. Leadership is usually top of mind for me: I have a Master’s Degree in the subject and run a consulting company, Berlineaton, that helps clients across Canada improve their organizations through leading more effectively.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned about leadership, it’s that good leaders are always learning. I was therefore looking forward to learning, vicariously or otherwise, something from my daughter’s leadership journey. I had an opportunity to join that journey during an assembly held near the beginning of the school year. At the assembly, each Grade 5 student stood up and answered the question: “What is a leader?” from their individual points of view. I wasn’t sure what to expect, and thought perhaps the kids would focus on exhortations to ‘stop bullying’ or some other repackaging of various kinds of important, yet facile, educational sector messaging that seems so prevalent these days.

But what I actually heard simply blew me away.