• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Are education credentials really that inflexible?

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm well into an army reserve application and am still upset about my education credentials being essentially worthless to the military because they don't align with very specific highschool courses. I'm an experienced software developer and IT technician with a college diploma that included some college math. Despite that, the recruiter I spoke to essentially told me I may as well just have grade 10 and that I'm only eligible for a few trades like the combat ones.

I initially wanted to join as an Information Systems Technician since that is pretty close to what my education and experience lines up with but I've been reduced to a handful of trades that have nothing to do with anything I've ever done because I don't have a specific math module from highschool (I did a GED and then went to college).

According the the CAF - A 17 year old highschool dropout who happened to take a specific math module in highschool before dropping out and has zero work or life experience is qualified to be an information systems technician but I - a college educated and experienced software developer am not - because I don't have some random math module from highschool 10 years ago.

I'm having a hard time believing this can be true and that there must be a way for an intelligent human being to view my application and say "Okay, obviously this guy is qualified" rather than just a hard no because it says so in the system. Is there really no way to have my file reviewed?

Thank you

Yeah, you can go to an adult high school, get your college diploma credits applied to high school, take a class or 2 and get a secondary school diploma.