• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

American/Canadian Relations

• Thread starter Thread starter RJG
  • Start date Start date
R

RJG

I am a high school student in Toronto, thus I have many friends who are immigrants. I hear them constantly bashing the American government and it really disturbs me, for numerous reasons:

1. They were the first country to ever have a codified constitution which gaurunteed the rights and freedoms of its people.

2. They are our number one trade partner.

3. If someone attacked Canada, however unlikely, who would come to our aid; America.

I was just wondering if these attitudes that the people in my school have are only because they are young and ignorant, or if this was the general feelings towards America. I see the stats and everything else, but I would like to know from you, in your experiences, if people show a general hatred or extreme dislike towards America.

(edited for typo)

Migrants from where? I reckon amongst the 3rd world, and throughout islamic countries the USA is hated, but maybe more so the govt, and not the people. However look where to terrorism is directed, not at the govt, but the people.

Sadly if the USA was to, say sit back and do nothing for the past, lets say 60 yrs, this world would be a worse place, and you INFACT may be speaking German (and I Japanese) and have no rights as YOU and I know them.

Europe, SE Asia, South America, and the ME would all be completely different places, and NOT for the better.

The USA is an ally of Canada, and other nations, including Australia.

Personally, I have always been treated 10/10 by the Americans I know, and they are welcome in my home anytime!

Oh, as for the UN, (a big usless paper tiger), they would not even exist if it wasnt for the USA, as the USA pays for most of it.